7 Astounding benefits of journal writing

You may have guessed by now that I’m quite fanatical about how journal writing can change your life. As well as helping you think clearly, keep track of important ideas and projects, relax and tease out your creative side, journal writing also has a number of other benefits.

Here are some more reasons why I believe journal writing is just PERFECT:

  1. Promotes self-healing
  2. Enables weight-loss
  3. Reveals the deep-seated intelligence of our bodies
  4. Forges greater links between the hemispheres of our brain
  5. Encourages calmer moods
  6. Coaxes out our human joy in playing
  7. Transforms our relationship with time

(See what I did there?)

Over the next few posts I’ll be commenting in more detail on each of these amazing benefits – so be sure to check back soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Journal Writing, Self-Awareness

2 responses to “7 Astounding benefits of journal writing

  1. Juliet,
    This list of journaling perfection is fresh and fabulous! I read a lot of different posts on Journaling and your list here is more expansive, broad-based, and comprehensive.

    I think I especially love the coaxing out human joy in playing; it certainly can help us keep track of what joy we are experiencing, what works for us, and noting when we need more of it!

    I have chosen your post, 7 Astounding Benefits of Journal Writing, for the #JournalChat Pick of the Day on 12/7/12 for all things journaling on Twitter;
    I will post a link on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, my blog and website Refresh with Dawn Herring, and in my weekly Refresh Journal: http://tinyurl.com/ap7w4lq.

    #JournalChat Live is every Thursday, 5 EST/2 PST, for all things journaling on Twitter; our topic this week was Your Journaling: Let It Flow.

    Love this list! Thanks so much for providing it.

    Be refreshed,
    Dawn Herring
    Host of #JournalChat Live and Links Edition on Twitter
    Author of The Birthday Wall: Create a Collage to Celebrate Your Child

    • Hello Dawn
      Thankyou so much for your comments! It’s so great to hear from you.
      A few months ago an academic colleague of mine declared that he isn’t a ‘player’of games or sports – never has been – and it got me so curious about the place of play in our lives. And I realised that journal writing provides us with such a fabulous arena for play – with different perspectives, different metaphors, all of which inform us in some way about ourselves. So I got some of my answer about the importance of play in our lives and why we do it – and I think it’s because it restores us to ourselves in new and surprising ways.
      Thanks again so much for the links. I’ll be sure to check out your Refresh Journal and chime in!
      All the best
      Juliet

Leave a Reply

