Five tips to building your platform as a self-published author

Reading back over my last few entries, here’s the heads-up on the key steps to building an authentic marketing platform for your book – and for it to feel easy rather than utterly terrifying or a real ball-ache:

  1. Make friends with a local journalist or editor. Remember they need copy to keep their publication in business. As a writer you deal in their life-blood. They will love to receive your press release as a local news story.
  2. Build an authentic network off-line by engaging in activities you are genuinely interested in and feel compelled to contribute to. Let your network be a by-product of your participation rather than its raison d’etre . This way people will get to know the real you rather than the networking you.
  3. Offer yourself as a speaker to a local group or society. You could tell your writer’s story, or speak on a subject that you learned about in your research. If your book is non-fiction set up a how-to workshop pertinent to the topic of your book.
  4. Don’t be daunted by the plethora of on-line social networking sites. Start with what you know – even if it’s just emailing your contact list – and go from there.
  5. Follow your nose when it comes to broadening your marketing reach. Take a look at what other people are doing and see if it’s something that appeals to you. Keep a note in your journal of all the possible marketing ideas that occur to you, and notice which ones hang around in your head. These could be the ones that you have the greatest energy for. Alternatively check out Pete’s story in Chapter 6 of The Journal Writer’s Handbook – he could be your inspiration!
13 Comments

Filed under Self-publishing

13 responses to “Five tips to building your platform as a self-published author

  1. Great post! I think we have the philosophy ” 5 Rungs to Building a Social Media Presence” | http://indispensablemarketing.wordpress.com/2012/07/02/5-rungs-to-building-a-social-media-presence/

  2. I so appreciate your kind reblog writerjuliet. Thank you!

  3. Please could you expand a little on point 2?

    • Hey there – with pleasure.
      I have built up my network by doing things I love – running journal writing workshops, attending a reading group, setting up and leading a writing group in my local area, attending and speaking at the local philosophical society, organising workshops on behalf of other writers and tutors, getting involved with my village’s campaign to lobby against encroaching development, even accepting the role of Lady Captain at my golf club last year.
      Because I get so engaged in the things I am interested in and which energise me I don’t have time to ‘network’ as a separate activity. So the networking I do has become a by-product of all the other things I’ve got involved with, and it’s a lot more fun and a lot more fulfilling for me to spend time with people with whom I share common interests. It also means I can relax and be myself rather than feeling under pressure always to promote myself, as I used to feel when I used to attend events with the express purpose of ‘networking’.
      Hope this helps!

  4. You’re welcome Kevin – thanks for visiting!

  5. Great ideas–I’ve shared this on my Facebook page at Change It Up Editing.

Leave a Reply

