Birthday meditation – and an announcement

First my announcement.

After months of prevaricating The Journal Writer’s Handbook is now available on Kindle. Click on the cover image to go right ahead and buy it!

I don’t know exactly why I was prevaricating. Partly fear of getting the formatting right for electronic publication; partly loyalty towards ‘real’ books. In the end I realised that the Handbook would work well electronically, as all the indices could be neatly hyper-linked and navigation would be easier. Hurrah for giving myself a rational talking to.

So there it is. And the reason why this is linked to my recent birthday is because getting it done became my gift to myself. Completing it on time felt brilliant, and now I am resolved to set a target to achieve for each of my future birthdays.

Birthdays are times of new commitments to ourselves. They mark the anniversary of our first involuntary breath, and we can honour that every year with a special voluntary act of our own.

2 Comments

Filed under The Journal Writer's Handbook

2 responses to “Birthday meditation – and an announcement

  1. Fabulous news. I’ve actually just ordered the paperback as I guess I’m an old fashioned kinda girl when it comes to my books. Can’t wait for it arrive. I love your style of writing, and though I’ve kept a diary for years it resembles Bridget Jones more than I realised so I’m looking forward to writing meaningful content rather than the number of glasses of wine consumed!

Leave a Reply

