How is the Law of Attraction working for you?

My family and I have recently been improving our financial IQ by playing Robert Kiyosaki’s Cashflow Game. Like a turbo-charged incarnation of Monopoly it’s a game of chance, but with lots of lessons along the way about assets, liabilities, property and business deals that can make for exciting rainy day entertainment.

Cashflow game

While playing the game with friends this past weekend, I found myself on a particular streak of having to pay out hundreds on various expenses, what Kiyosaki calls Doodads, and for which there are cards to turn over much like Monopoly’s Chance or Community Chest cards.

“I don’t believe it!” I kept saying. “Just my luck I’ll get the boat too.”

Now the boat is the most extravagant of doodads, weighing in at a hefty $18k, which on my meagre janitor’s salary would pretty much break the bank.

“I don’t want the boat!” I continued with every roll of the dice.

Until guess what? I got the boat.

Well duh.

Quite apart from learning how to manage money once you’ve got it this in itself was a valuable lesson about how to attract it – or not – in the first place.

Take a look at what you’re regularly saying you don’t believe, or you don’t want, or what it’ll be just your luck to get.

And quick – use your journal to find a different way to put it. Or just stop going on about it altogether.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

