Get over yourself

I made my bed this morning! And then I decided to reeeally challenge myself.

It was this:

It’s always been ‘a thing’ with me, whenever I’ve felt scared, to stare down the scary thing and do it anyway. And I haven’t even read Susan Jeffers’ famous book.

As a child I would perform song and dance routines for people with toothache who came to my Dad’s home-based dental surgery. It must have been hellish for them, nursing a raging pain and having to put up with the precocious offerings of a 1970s version of Shirley Temple, singing into the handle of the vacuum cleaner!

But somewhere along the line I got shy. And then later I realised that if I wanted to experience something I needed to put myself out there. I needed to pluck up the courage to get over my shyness and reconnect with the fearlessness of my early childhood.

What’s one thing that scares you today? If you got over yourself and stared it down what would be possible for you on the other side?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

